[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]


Country:United States
Releases:[The Crucible] [Progression]
Info:Curtis Allen is Voice from Washington DC. He released his first album Progression in 2005.

Voice grew up in a tough neighborhood in the D.C. metropolitan area as a child. As a result of his environment, he sought refuge in anything that would take his mind off the struggles of no dad, tough surroundings, and a criminal record that started at seven years old. That refuge would be music, specifically rap/hip-hop music.

In the 1990’s, Voice had a sincere desire to get a recording contract. He would go and help other guys in his neighborhoods develop their abilities in hopes to one day hit the recording industry hard as force to reckon with from DC.

Voice who had changed his name to Intrigue Garcia was involved with a well known for it's crime neighborhood called Belle Haven. This neighborhood would house the street gang “2nd Gin” which would take Voice’s desire for rap and mix it with the underworld of drugs and violence that so permeated DC. Voice’s life in and out of rap was spiraling out of control as he began the difficult journey of redempton.

The height of all this came to a head when, after meeting with an entertainment lawyer and record label executives to sign a recording contract, he was subsequently charged with attempted murder which was dropped to 1st degree assault, 2nd degree assault, reckless endangerment and possession of a gun.

Now facing 43 years in prison for his crimes he again needed to find refuge in something that had more substance than music, something that didn’t change as rap music had through the years. What he found would change his life and the direction of his music forever.

A friend that was with him through all these trials, even in “those sobering court rooms”, shared the Gospel of Jesus Christ with him. He had been introduced to this earlier in life but had never taken it seriously. Though this information was not new, now with his life in utter shambles God had his attention.

With what seemed to be a Red Sea-like miracle, Voice was given only minimal time in jail and extended probation. This was enough for Voice, and with the help of his friend, he began to pursue a relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ.

The most important thing now was finding a local church that not only believes the Bible but lives it. He found that in Covenant Life Church, where he now serves as a pastoral intern in the singles ministry there under Eric Simmons and Joshua Harris, his senior pastor.

“This church accepted me as I was and helped me to grow as I should”, says Voice. “The grace of God is seen so clearly in the local church and for me this is what I needed and what we all need if we are to mature in Christ. I often think that I should be in prison and instead I get to do this. Grace is amazing isn’t it,” contemplates Voice. Now armed with the grace of God Voice brings his pastoral heart and street knowledge.

The MC released his first album Progression in 2005. His sophomore recording The Crucible is released in 2006.

Release:The Crucible
The Crucible
(what is this?) / 5 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:The album is released on September 5th, 2006.
Guest appearances by Evangel, Janine Winston, Janice Mays.
Production by Apologist.

1. Welcome To The Crucible
2. One
3. My Contribution
4. Death Becomes You
5. If God Needs Help
6. The Fear Of The Lord
7. Take It There
8. What Is Love
9. Mysterious
10. Consequences
11. Get Up Stand Up
12. This Is That
13. Imagine
14. The Wondrous Cross
15. Na (Make Sure)
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 1 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

(what is this?) / 2 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:1. Intro
2. Non-conformist
3. Unstoppable
4. The Straight Curve
5. Maybe
6. All Rap Is
7. Failure
8. Thorns In My Flesh - part 1
9. Contemporary Job
10. Soldier
11. Divide And Conquer
12. Why Should I Care
13. Laugh Out Loud
14. Offended
15. Destiny
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 1 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]