Holy Hip Hop DataBase

[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]


Country:United States
Info:Robert Dryer is 202 and he's here to prove that there is such a thing as positive hip hop. The genre is often denigrated by those who misunderstand it as being entirely about violence and misogyny, but that's simply not true. 202 is all the evidence you need. Combining superb beat work and lyrical skill with spiritual considerations, 202 is a top notch purveyor of what Dryer describes as underground street-hop mixed with christian Hip Hop."

Brand of Hip Hop
Dryer has tagged his brand as a style he calls "Street Think and his brand emphasizes God, Family and Community" Dryer says. Whatever this style and movement will come to be known as, Dryer is a unique and innovative voice both lyrically and musically.

It may seem like a challenge to fuse hip hop typical attitudinal aggression with spiritual considerations, but faith is a serious for dimension of many people. And, for someone with Dryer's talent, it is totally possible for the mixture to work. You see, the mixture is a fixture.

Music is an unmovable presence in Dryer's life and so 202 is able to present an intimate understanding of music, the sort of passion and artistic power necessary to express one's feelings at full strength, even if it goes against the grain. Music is a fixture in my life that has served to make clearer just who and what I am. Through the sound and expression of music, I am able to connect to and/or convey the most intimate parts of my worldview, and entertain and have fun. His musical expression provides a strong message for listeners but also rewards the artist with self knowledge. As I connect and/or convey those parts of me that I hold most important, I am able to find clarity about my purpose and destiny for myself and hopefully others.

Influential Entertainment
When someone has a message to get across, music is the perfect medium for the transmission of challenging ideas. An able artist can use music as a way of sending a message. Offer entertainment and fans will hear what you have to say. “I communicate my worldview through influential entertainment and relevant content, so influential and relevant that my music helps spark change in people's lives and hopefully for the greater good. God, says 202, is the ultimate inspiration for the presentation of such potent music.

Part-time touring helps get the word out right now but 202 hopes eventually for full-time work. Given the right deal, I would love to tour full-time. It's not as though he doesn't have the music to support full-time touring. I am almost always writing and creating music. Except for the holiday season, I am a pretty productive guy. And since he owns his own studio, recording is no problem either.

His previous release "Still Standing" (2007) now out of print except at shows can be heard at www.myspace.com/202music and fans can eagerly anticipate new music: a full length independent release, called "Motivation" is scheduled for 2008.

Release:Still Standing
Still Standing
(what is this?) / 2 users have this
Media:[Audio CD] [Digital Download]
Info:The album is released on June 9th, 2007.

1. Think N' Go
2. Still Standing
3. Rugged (E Ortega Remix)
4. Coming Through
5. Now
6. Hey (My Girls Song)
7. Still Standing - featuring Toney Snow
8. Real Talk - featuring Relentless
9. Water Water Everywhere
10. Short Comment
11. Subtle High
12. Inside of Us - featuring Conflict & Relentless
13. Issues
14. Ask Me
15. Sounds of the City
16. God Family Street = StreetThink
17. Savage
18. What Now - featuring The Boys
19. Till You Hear
Rating:Our users rated this release: 0 out of 10
(Number of votes: 1)   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]