Holy Hip Hop DataBase

[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]

TRUCE : Nicky Cruz Outreach

TRUCE : Nicky Cruz Outreach
Country:United States
Releases:[The Refuge] [Ready 4 War] [TRUCE]
Info:TRUCE is a music ministry organization from New York founded in 1997 and led by Nicky Cruz, a former gangleader. The organization reaches out to gangs and the inner-city youth through hip hop concerts.

The artists performing at the show are the same young people, who know life on the streets, but they made a choice to follow Christ. Now they are trained to perform and reach out to others through music.

These ministry artists are chosen to witness as David Ham (TRUCE member) says "We are looking for people who are able to tell a story from darkness to light. From I was once in the gangs to I'm no longer in the gangs, and I've given my life to God."

During the auditions TRUCE looks at the story behind the person not the entertainment value. David Ham: "We don't want it to be a performance, but your presentation to be a lifestyle."

The first objective was to reach the youth in New York, The Bronx, but during the year 1999 the initiative spread to the neighborhood Harlem, and to other cities like Dallas (Texas) and Milwaukee (Wisconsin). In the spring of 2002 the outreach organization went to Oslo in Norway.

New York
David Ham is the director in New York of the TRUCE organization since 2002. As he states in an interview with Dutch TV station LLink: In New York City there is a natural aggression [...] attitude of rage and frustration [...] that attitude has really brought down the moral and behaviour of young people in New York City. But we've taken that aggression and attitude and used it to our advantage, spiritually speaking, in terms of we'll be aggressive and come back firmly with the gospel.

TRUCE has released several albums through their ministry. In June 2006 another compilation will be released called The Refuge.

Source of quotes: LLink (Dutch TV) - broadcasted January 18th, 2006.

Photo: TRUCE dancer performing.

Release:The Refuge
The Refuge
(what is this?) / 4 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:The album is released in June 2006.

1. Mercy Seat
2. Witness
3. Lets Ride
4. Come N' Get Him
5. Mi Gente, My People
6. We Got You
7. Take a Deep Breath
8. Breathe on Me
9. Love for Me
10. The Refuge
11. True Love
12. Dream
13. What's Really Good?
14. Pain
15. Whisper
16. Laura
17. My Help (Cometh from the Lord)
18. We Honor You
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

Release:Ready 4 War
Ready 4 War
(what is this?) / 5 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:1. Are You Ready?
2. Datz Wassup
3. Go Fast
4. Bless You
5. Ready 4 War
6. Where You At?
7. My Everything
8. Praize
9. God Is Good (All The Time)
10. 24/7
11. 'Lost But Now I'm Found' (Interlude)
12. Warriorz Cry
13. Come N' Get Him
14. Time To Believe
Rating:Our users rated this release: 10 out of 10
(Number of votes: 1)   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 2 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

(what is this?) / 2 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:1. Hit 'n' Run
2. Victory is Yours
3. Hit em' Up
4. Hit em' Up - instrumental
6. I Will Follow You
7. Jesus is Real
8. Healing Power
9. Testify interlude
10. Callin
11. Only Luv
12. Mystery
13. Outro Prayer of Salvation
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2021 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]