[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]

Solomon Starr

Solomon Starr
Country:United States
Releases:[God is Hip-Hop (single)] [Eternal Life] [The Birth of Tragedy] [Twilight of the Idols : The Mixtape Volume 1]
Info:Born and raised in New York City, Solomon Starr is a gifted Gospel hip hop minister.

Solomon began rapping at age nine during the height of a crack epidemic. The intensity of crime in his neighborhood presented Solomon with threatening obstacles that challenged his development into mature adulthood. Witnessing robberies and murders in the hallways of his apartment building forced him to transform his confusion and anxiety into lyrics. Even though writing helped ease the agony of adolescence, much of the comfort he received came from the spiritual direction he gained through active involvement in church.

Solomon diligently sought to have a relationship with God at a young age and came to accept Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior following a powerful conversion experience at the age of fifteen. This experience increased his desire to share the message of Christ with his peers.

However, as leader of his church's youth group, Solomon realized the difficulty of sharing the Gospel with teens who faced the hardships of an urban environment. Confronted with this bitter reality, Solomon abandoned the church after graduating high school in order to seek understanding in other places.

His journey snatched him from the chaotic streets of Washington Heights and introduced him to the peaceful neighborhoods of Pella, Iowa. Although his surroundings were quite calm, the inner turmoil of a broken relationship with God raged within him.

This, coupled with the experience of intense racism at Central College, forced Solomon to turn towards a lifestyle full of drugs and alcohol. Although he pursued a B.A. in Religion, a life of holiness was far from his mind. Heavy drinking, drug abuse and minor drug trafficking would be the pattern for most of his college life; he sought to numb the pain through such destructive behavior but Solomon could not erase his need for reconciliation with God.

Thankfully, reconciliation came for Solomon in March 2003 during a night so distressful that he thrust himself to his knees and cried out to God in repentance.

This event began the rapid transformation that landed Solomon in Crossroads Tabernacle where he is now a member of the Storytellas, a music ministry that evangelizes in prisons, churches and streets throughout the tri-state area.

In addition, the Lord has allowed him perform as a solo act all over the city, ministering at such events as the acclaimed Rap Fest. Also, he has been blessed to open for such artists as Cross Movement and Bobby Bishop.

Solomon Starr is currently pursuing a Masters in Divinity at New Brunswick Theological Seminary and is serving as Director of Youth at Fort Washington Collegiate Church.

Powerful Gifts
Although he once basked in the prestige of sharing stages with secular Hip-Hop acts, Solomon Starr finds no greater satisfaction than following Christ as he helps transform people through the powerful gifts given to him by God.

The MC is also featured on The Storytellas album "The Man" (2005).

The MC released the free mixtape "Twilight of the Idols" in July 2007.

Solomon Starr re-released his remastered debut album entitled "The Birth of Tragedy" on Sanctify Entertainment in August 2007.

Release:God is Hip-Hop (single)
God is Hip-Hop (single)
(what is this?)
Media:[Audio CD] [Digital Download]
Recordlabel:Sanctify Entertainment
Info:The EP is released on April 14th, 2009.

1. God is Hip Hop
2. Author of Life
3. Eternal Life
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

Release:Eternal Life
(what is this?)
Recordlabel:Sanctify Entertainment
Info:The album is scheduled for release in June/July of 2009.
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

Release:The Birth of Tragedy
The Birth of Tragedy
(what is this?)
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Sanctify Entertainment
Info:The album is released in August 2007.

1. Birth Pains
2. Open Eyes
3. Honestly Speaking
4. Cosmic Struggle
5. Walk of the Lamb
6. Lay the Law
7. Desire - featuring BARON of Red Clay
8. Night Vision
9. Overman - featuring Hollywood
10. L.I.E.S.
11. The Birth of Tragedy
12. Revelations
13. Walk of the Lamb (Acoustic Remix) - Bonus Track
14. I Need You - Bonus Track
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

Release:Twilight of the Idols : The Mixtape Volume 1
Twilight of the Idols : The Mixtape Volume 1
(what is this?) / 1 user has this
Media:[Digital Download]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:The mixtape is released for free on July 17th, 2007.

1. Spirit of Life (Intro Live@Rikers Island)
2. Twilight
3. Order Of Things
4. His Spirit Lives
5. Dirt Man
6. Critical Attack
7. Can't Runaway
8. Quinceniera
9. Babylon Crumble
10. OverThrow
11. Christ Utilized
12. Speech Is Survival
13. Can I Have Your Number
14. It's Not Impossible
15. Wisdom of The World
16. You Must Be Jokin
17. Morpheus
18. The Eulogy
19. Spirit of Life (Live@Rikers Island)
Rating:This release is not rated yet   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]