Holy Hip Hop DataBase

[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]


Country:United States
Info:Gary Watson also known as Sivion formed Phat K.A.T.S. with his twin brother, Wushu. K.A.T.S. stands for Knowledge And True Skills.

The crew performed in the Dallas, Texas' hip hop scene. Later they teamed up with Mysfit and Keynote of a group called Teknowledge, in order to form the crew "Lost Step". Keynote is an on-air personality for 97.9 FM "The Beat" in Dallas.

Together the Phat K.A.T.S. & Teknowledge performed many shows in Dallas, Denton, Sherman, Austin, Houston, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, etc. to broaden and strengthen their presence in the Mid-South region of the United States from 1992-2000.

After a few shows in early 2000, Sivion had to part ways with Wushu and become a solo artist. Alas the end of phat K.A.T.S. Sivion would release his first solo album "Mood Enhancement" on ILLECT Recordings in 2003.

But Phat K.A.T.S. would release a compilation album six years later, called "Raw Classics" as a limited edition on ILLECT Recordings in 2006.

Photo: Wushu (left) & Sivion (right)

Release:Raw Classics : ...For The Seasoned Beginner!
Raw Classics : ...For The Seasoned Beginner!
(what is this?) / 13 users have this
Media:[Audio CD] [Digital Download]
Recordlabel:ILLECT Recordings
Info:All songs written by G. Watson and T. Watson (Sivion & Wushu).
All beats produced by Sivion for Lost Step Sound (ASCAP), except [track 1, 5, 6, 8] produced by Silent Assassin for Divine Arrangement (BMI), [track 17, 18] produced by DJ Spinn for Wild Branch Productions (original TASCAM 4-track recording).
Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 recorded and mixed between 1995-2000 by Silent Assassin (C. Grady) for Divine Arrangement (BMI) at the Wishing Well in Oak Cliff, Texas.
Tracks 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16 recorded at the e*Fest in Denton, Texas and enhanced by Sivion for Lost Step Sound (ASCAP).
Saxophone on track 9 performed by Sivion.
Tracks 17 and 18 recorded between 1994-1995 in Denton, Texas by DJ Spinn (C. Nix) for Wild Branch Productions on a TASCAM 4-track tape recorder.
Executive producers: Josh Niemyjski, Jae choi, and Jon Madison for ILLECT Recordings.
Artwork by Khalid from www.BigSteelo.com.

1. Hollow heads
2. Cool head does it
3. Hades symplex 2000
4. One on one
5. Intense glow
6. Aquamatik
7. Bring it one time
8. S.H.A.N.N.A.N. (original)
9. Sax intro - live
10. True indeed - live
11. Cloud 9 - live
12. Cool head does it - live
13. Frisky - live
14. One on one - live
15. Hades symplex 2000 - live
16. Gettin' live - live
17. Cloud 9 (original) - bonus
18. Intense glow (original) - bonus
Rating:Our users rated this release: 8 out of 10
(Number of votes: 1)   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 1 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]